Twisted (poem)

Like a wet rag in your hands

my heart is twisted

until every drop

leaks out my eyes.

But God

collects every one.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Wright
    Oct 07, 2014 @ 19:17:37

    I actually have a question. My Christian friend came to me saying God is telling her it is time to leave her emotionally and verbally abusive marriage. She has filed for divorce. You often mention in your blog “unless God tells me I can leave” or something similar when referencing that God hasn’t told you you can leave. Do you really think God would tell a christian woman to divorce when His word says otherwise? I’m struggling with how to talk to my friend about this. I believe divorce is something God hates and isn’t to be entered into unless there is infidelity. Hope you can shed some light on this.

    Reply

    • lillygracebrown
      Jun 05, 2015 @ 06:29:50

      I apologize for my delayed reply Jackie. When a husband is emotionally and verbally abusing a wife, he has broken covenant with the spouse. The marriage contract is severed. I don’t believe we HAVE to stay married in that instance but I also don’t think that itis an automatic thing that we need to leave. If GOd provides for me and my children I would draw the line in the sand and seperate. Just because a spouse hasn’t hit his wife, doesn’t mean he won’t if he’s pushed so it’s not something to jump into but needs to be done with great wisdom, counsel and support. Your friend is accountable to God and you would serve her best by 1) reminding her of that so that her choice is something that God is leading her too and 2) providing a safe shoulder to cry on without judgement whether she stays or goes. Leaving is the most dangerous time for her so it should never be entered into lightly. Either way is painful and has consequences. I hope that helps. Leslie Vernick the Emotionally Destrucive Marriage would be a great resource for her.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

