Why a Great Marriage is a lot like Ice Dancing

I’ve been obsessed with watching Meryl Davis and Charlie White’s rise to getting the Gold at Sochi and while I haven’t been able to watch the Olympics, I have kept tabs.

As I watched videos of their performances from last month, as they prepared for Sochi, I was struck by how a great marriage is a lot like ice-dancing.

  • Life is hard. So is ice.
  • The man leads and protects his partner. He even elevates her and goes out of his way to make her look good. He may be bigger, stronger, taller, but he never flaunts that to overshadow his partner.
  • The woman follows and leans on her partner.
  • There is great respect and trust. One would have to in order to be lifted up and twirled about like that!
  • Great discipline and teamwork in private practice, impacts what is seen on the ice. So too in marriage. Good communication, regular dates all go towards a beauty seen by others.
  • The team is greater than the members. They need to be in synch regardless of what kind of day they’ve had.
  • Time makes up a good team. Concentrated time together. I’ve seen videos of Meryl and Charlie even working out together.
  • Being tuned into your partner allows you to stay in synch. Watch those twizzles!
  • When done well, a great marriage, like a beautiful ice dance, brings glory and honor to the Creator of all beauty.

I have none of this in my marriage, which is maybe why I find watching them dance on ice resonates with the deep longing in my soul for that kind of marriage.

Here is one of the dances they were to do at Sochi. Enjoy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tamara
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 09:42:03

    I have always been mesmerized by the couples ice dancing….and I too have none of what you wrote above in my marriage. I have longed for that kind of marriage as well…my parents will be married for 50 years this coming July…they are each others best friend….they have had their ups and downs in their marriage, but through it all stuck together. This is a second marriage for both my husband and I and the hardest relationship that I have ever tried to navigate over the last 9 years. My children and I moved to the city (40 miles) where his ex-wife lives so he could remain not only in her life, but in his children’s life….so he could continuing living the life that he has always lived…and I am suppose to sit back and watch from the sidelines. My children and I were simply suppose to become a part of the life that he and his ex-wife had already established for their 4 children. My children and I were the ones that were suppose to adapt and accommodate…and when I spoke up, and said enough was enough I was told that “It works for me, it works for my ex-wife, it works for our children, but it doesn’t work for you…too bad!” And now that I have uprooted my children, finally sold my house, (was on the market for 4 long years) I was told this morning that he wants me out of his house by the end of March. Thank you for your blogs, because it helps me feel that I am not alone.

    Reply

    • lillygracebrown
      Feb 21, 2014 @ 13:11:00

      Tamara, I’m so sorry to here all you have gone through. Is he divorcing you? Telling you to leave without any legal recourse seems brutal, but on course for everthing else you’ve endured. You are not alone and God sees every tear and harsh word. He is always faithful even when we cannot see it. Prayers and hugs to you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

