Conundrum

I’ve been working on aspects of my book, Lessons from the Trenches, which is due to be released in September of this year.

Part of getting a book to market is getting the message of the book to those who need to read it. Normally that would start with speaking engagements in my area.

But my book is about encouraging women in difficult marriages. Can you see it now? The wife goes to her husband and says, “Hey, honey, I’m going to church for a women’s speaker today.”

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Hubby responds. “What’s the topic?”

“Encouraging women in difficult marriages.”

Hubby: “Why would you need to hear that talk?”

Oops.

For awhile  our church had a class called “What to know before you divorce.” Hmmm. I could just imagine going to my husband and telling him I needed him to stay home with the kids so I could attend THAT class!

See, for some women in difficult marriages, confronting the issue and even seeking help, can be dangerous. It can increase the abuse they suffer in the marriage. I can’t risk putting a woman in danger no matter how much she needs the help.

Also, my real name is not Lilly Grace Brown. I write under that name to protect my family as I share my own story. I want to be vulnerable about my struggle so that women know that they are not alone. Because of this, I cannot do speaking events close to home where someone might know me. The real me.

If this blog has been helpful. If you know someone who is hurting. Please pass the information along. I’m going to do everything I can to promote my book to reach the women who need it most, but it will be hard to do a speaking platform to accomplish that.

Having said that, I am in North Carolina (Ashville) in a few weeks and I would gladly meet with women while I’m in the area. I’ll be in Denver in May as well. Wheaton in June.

If you don’t feel comforable commenting here, I get that too. Social media can be an open book in many cases. I want women to be safe, emotionally and physically. But if you know someone who is hurting, please pass this information along to them. I would love to be able to encourage them.

Having said all that. I can do messages on Sanctification and how that impacts marriage, on the Attributes of God, on Submission (I know, a dirty word!) and other topics surrounding the issue. As a married friend of mine said, “Your book could probably help everyone – not just those who are struggling most.” That may be true, but I want the weary wife who is holding on by her fingernails and wondering if it’s worth it, to know she is not alone and there are people out there willing to listen and help.

Leave a Reply

